---
title: "Meeting Note-Taker Pricing on Mac, Tracked (2026) — Mumr"
description: "Per-user prices, free-tier limits and whether there is a real Mac app, for nine meeting note-takers. Every row dated. Price changes logged as they happen."
canonical: "https://mumr.app/research/meeting-notes-app-pricing-mac"
language: "en-GB"
last-updated: "2026-09-20T11:15:55+01:00"
source: "https://mumr.app — Markdown rendition of the HTML page at `canonical`"
---

Research · Pricing tracker

# What meeting note-takers cost on a Mac, tracked

Nine meeting note-takers, one table: what a seat costs per month and per year, what the free tier actually lets you do, and whether there is a real Mac app behind the name. Every figure was read from the vendor's own pricing page on the date beside it, and every change gets logged below with the old number next to the new one.

Last updated: 14 September 2026 · By Mumr

The short version

-   A paid seat runs **$8 to $25 a month billed annually**, and up to double that month to month. Only MacWhisper sells a one-off licence (€64).
-   The free tiers that hold up for real use are **Fathom** (unlimited recordings) and **Superwhisper** (meeting recording on local models). Otter's 300 minutes a month with a 30-minute cap per conversation runs out on the third meeting.
-   Three of the nine record through a **bot that joins the call** by default (Fathom, Fireflies, tl;dv). Four capture the Mac's own audio (Granola, Notion, Superwhisper, Mumr). Bot-free on Fathom is a beta.
-   Every row is dated. If a figure here disagrees with the vendor's page today, the vendor is right and the change log below is late — [tell us](https://mumr.app/contact).

## The table

Prices are per user per month. "Annual" is the per-month figure when billed yearly, as the vendor presents it. Currency is whatever the vendor showed a visitor from the UK on the day; Notion and tl;dv price by region and showed pounds. The bot-based cloud tools come first, the on-device Mac tools last, and the free row sits at the bottom where it is easy to find.

| Tool | Paid seat, monthly | Paid seat, annual | Free tier | Mac app | Captures via | Transcribes | Verified |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| [Fathom](https://fathom.ai/pricing) | Premium $20 · Team $19 · Business $34 (Team and Business need 2 seats) | Premium $16 · Team $15 · Business $25 | Unlimited recordings and transcription; instant summaries; advanced summaries and action items are paid | Yes | Bot by default; bot-free Mac capture in beta | Cloud | 14 Sep 2026 |
| [Fireflies](https://fireflies.ai/pricing) | Pro $18 · Business $29 | Pro $10 · Business $19 · Enterprise $39 (annual only) | "Unlimited transcription", with limits on summaries and storage the page marks with an asterisk | Yes (desktop app listed) | Bot ("Fireflies Notetaker") | Cloud | 14 Sep 2026 |
| [tl;dv](https://tldv.io/pricing) | Not captured: the page opened on the annual toggle; monthly is "up to 40%" more | Pro £16 · Business £24 per seat (billed annually) | Unlimited recordings and transcription in 30+ languages; AI notes on 10 meetings and 10 Ask-AI queries, then paid | Not stated on the pricing page (mobile app listed; desktop not) | Bot ("custom bot appearance" is a Pro feature) | Cloud | 14 Sep 2026 (browser screenshot; the page 404s to automated fetchers) |
| [Otter](https://otter.ai/pricing) | Pro $16.99 · Business $30 | Pro $8.33 · Business $19.99 | 300 minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation. Pro: 1,200 minutes, 90 per meeting | Yes ("Download for Mac") | Joins Zoom, Teams and Meet from the calendar; desktop app for the rest | Cloud | 14 Sep 2026 |
| [Notion AI Meeting Notes](https://www.notion.com/pricing) | Not captured: the page opened on "Pay yearly"; monthly is "up to 20%" more | Business £16.50 per member (Plus £8.50, but Meeting Notes is not on Plus), billed yearly | None for Meeting Notes: Free and Plus get a "limited trial". Business and Enterprise: 10 hours per user per day | Yes (macOS 13+) | Desktop app, system audio plus mic | Cloud (OpenAI, Anthropic, AssemblyAI and others named as sub-processors) | 14 Sep 2026 |
| [Krisp](https://krisp.ai/pricing) | Core $16 · Advanced $30 | Core $8 · Advanced $15 | 7-day trial. No free plan on the pricing page | Desktop app; macOS not named on the pages checked | Desktop app | On-device for English, server for 15 other languages | 14 Sep 2026 |
| [Granola](https://www.granola.ai/pricing) | Business $14 · Enterprise $35 | No annual figure on the page | Basic: AI notes with "limited meeting history" | Yes (macOS, Windows, iOS, Android) | Computer audio, no bot | Not stated on the pages checked | 14 Sep 2026 |
| [Superwhisper](https://superwhisper.com/) | Pro $8.49 | Pro $84.99 a year ($7.08 a month, "2 months free"). Lifetime is a third toggle, not captured — last read 28 Jun 2026 as $249.99 once | Meeting recording, unlimited Whisper models, 100+ languages. Larger cloud models and file transcription are Pro | Yes | Mac audio, no bot | On-device on Apple Silicon; cloud models optional | 14 Sep 2026 |
| [MacWhisper](https://macwhisper.com/) | Pro €64, paid once, lifetime updates | — | Microphone and file transcription, .txt export. Meeting recording (Zoom, Teams, Webex) is Pro only | Yes | Mac audio, no bot (Pro) | On-device | 14 Sep 2026 |
| [Mumr](https://mumr.app/) | $0 | $0 | Everything. No tiers, no account. The summary step uses your own Anthropic or OpenAI key, a local CLI, or Apple Intelligence on macOS 26 | Yes (macOS 15+, Mac only) | Mac audio, no bot | On-device (Apple Speech, WhisperKit, Parakeet) | 14 Sep 2026 |

**A note on tl;dv.** Its pricing page returns a 404 to automated fetchers, so the row was read from a browser screenshot taken the same day. Two cells could not be read from that view and say so.

## What the free tiers actually give you

"Free" on a pricing page means one of three things: free until you use it, free for the part you did not need, or free. Each vendor's own unit, as they state it:

-   **Fathom** — unlimited recordings and transcription with instant summaries. The advanced summaries, AI action items and the assistant are Premium. Of the bot-based tools, this is the free tier that survives daily use.
-   **Otter** — 300 transcription minutes a month and 30 minutes per conversation. A one-hour meeting is cut at the half. Three ordinary meetings use the month.
-   **Fireflies** — "unlimited transcription", with an asterisk the page attaches to summary, storage and rate limits. Read the asterisk before relying on it.
-   **tl;dv** — unlimited recordings and transcription, but AI notes stop after 10 meetings and Ask-AI after 10 queries. The transcript is free; the notes are the product.
-   **Granola** — AI notes with limited meeting history. The notes work; the archive is what you pay $14 a month to keep.
-   **Notion** — no free tier for Meeting Notes at all. Free and Plus get a limited trial; the feature lives on Business, at £16.50 a seat where we are.
-   **Krisp** — a 7-day trial rather than a free plan, on the pricing page as of this check.
-   **MacWhisper** — free for transcribing files and your own microphone. Recording a Zoom or Teams call is the Pro feature, once, for €64.
-   **Superwhisper** — meeting recording is in the free tier, on the local Whisper models. Pro adds the larger cloud models, your own API keys and file transcription.
-   **Mumr** — the recorder, the on-device transcription and the summary are all free, with no minute cap and no account. The honest limit is elsewhere: Mac only, no iOS, no web, no shared team library, and the summary AI is one you bring. With Apple Intelligence or a CLI you already pay for, that costs nothing extra; with an API key it costs whatever your provider charges per summary.

## What a year costs

One seat for twelve months at the annual rate where the vendor offers one, otherwise at the monthly rate the page shows. Rounded to the dollar. A team of five is the same figure times five, except where a plan has a two-seat minimum, which changes nothing at five.

| Plan | One seat, a year | Five seats, a year | Against $0 |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Fathom Business (annual) | $300 | $1,500 | $300 per seat |
| tl;dv Business (annual, GBP) | £288 | £1,440 | £288 per seat |
| Otter Business (annual) | $240 | $1,200 | $240 per seat |
| Fireflies Business (annual) | $228 | $1,140 | $228 per seat |
| Notion Business (annual, GBP) | £198 | £990 | £198 per seat |
| Fathom Premium (annual) | $192 | $960 | $192 per seat |
| tl;dv Pro (annual, GBP) | £192 | £960 | £192 per seat |
| Krisp Advanced (annual) | $180 | $900 | $180 per seat |
| Granola Business (monthly rate) | $168 | $840 | $168 per seat |
| Fireflies Pro (annual) | $120 | $600 | $120 per seat |
| Otter Pro (annual) | $100 | $500 | $100 per seat |
| Krisp Core (annual) | $96 | $480 | $96 per seat |
| Superwhisper Pro (annual) | $85 | $425 | $85 per seat |
| MacWhisper Pro (once) | €64 | €320 | €64 per seat, once |
| Mumr | $0 | $0 | — |

The right-hand column is the number a free tool is worth to you only if the free tool does the job. For a team that needs a shared, searchable library of everyone's calls, none of the free options do, Mumr included, and the honest comparison is between the paid rows.

## Is there a real Mac app?

The question behind a surprising share of searches — _Otter for Mac_, _Granola for Mac_, _download Fireflies for Mac_ — is whether the tool runs on the Mac or merely opens in a browser there. One line each, from the vendor's own pages:

-   **Granola** — native desktop app; captures the computer's audio and "doesn't invite a bot".
-   **Otter** — native desktop app ("Download for Mac"); the meeting integration joins Zoom, Teams and Meet from your calendar.
-   **Fathom** — desktop app; the default recorder is a bot, and bot-free capture on macOS is marked beta.
-   **Fireflies** — a desktop app is listed; recording is by the Fireflies Notetaker bot.
-   **tl;dv** — the pricing page lists a mobile app and a bot; it does not mention a desktop app. Treat as browser plus bot until the vendor says otherwise.
-   **Notion** — desktop app for macOS 13 and later; Meeting Notes captures system audio and mic through it, and only the mic in a browser.
-   **Krisp** — a desktop app is described; the pages we checked do not name macOS. If you know the answer from the app itself, [say so](https://mumr.app/contact) and the row changes.
-   **MacWhisper** and **Superwhisper** — Mac-native, on-device, no bot.
-   **Mumr** — Mac-native and Mac-only, macOS 15 or later, from the Mac App Store.

## Price changes, logged

One line per change: the tool, the old figure, the new figure, the date it was seen. Empty except for the first verification, which is what a new log should look like.

-   **14 September 2026** — first verification of every row above against the vendor pricing pages. tl;dv read from a browser screenshot after its page 404'd to fetchers; its monthly rate and Notion's monthly rate were not captured (both pages opened on annual billing). Superwhisper yearly read from a browser screenshot ($84.99); lifetime not captured, last seen 28 June 2026 at $249.99.

## Method

-   **Source.** The vendor's own pricing page, fetched on the date in the row. Not a blog, not a review, not a directory. Where a page did not state something, the cell says so rather than guessing.
-   **Currency.** As shown to a visitor from the United Kingdom. Vendors that price by region show pounds; the cell says which.
-   **Cadence.** Every row is re-read monthly. A change is logged above with both figures. The "Last updated" line at the top moves only when a row moves, so it means something.
-   **What is not here.** Enterprise plans quoted as "contact sales", add-on credit bundles, and per-file upload charges — each vendor prices these differently enough that a table would flatten the differences that matter. Follow the vendor link in the row.
-   **Who writes this.** Mumr. We make one of the tools in the table, and it is the free row. Every other row is reported the way the vendor states it, and where a competitor's free tier is better for a given job, the free-tiers section says so.

## Record and transcribe on your Mac, free

Mumr captures the call's audio and your mic on your Mac, transcribes on-device, and writes the recap with the AI you already have. No bot, no cloud, no account, no seat.

[Download for Mac](https://mumr.app/download)

Free on the Mac App Store · macOS 15 or later

## FAQ

### Which meeting note-takers have a genuinely free plan?

As of 14 September 2026: Fathom (unlimited recordings and transcription, summaries limited), Otter (300 minutes a month, 30 per conversation), Fireflies (limited), tl;dv (AI notes on 10 meetings), Granola (limited history), Superwhisper (meeting recording on local models), MacWhisper (files and mic, not meetings) and Mumr (everything). Krisp shows a 7-day trial, and Notion's Meeting Notes needs a Business plan.

### Which of these have a native Mac app?

Granola, Otter, Fathom, Fireflies, Notion, MacWhisper, Superwhisper and Mumr all ship a Mac desktop app. Fathom's bot-free Mac capture is in beta. Krisp describes a desktop app without naming macOS on the pages we checked.

### How often is this page updated?

Every price is re-checked against the vendor's own page monthly, and a change is logged with the old figure, the new figure and the date. The "Last updated" line only moves when a row does.

### Why are some prices in pounds?

Notion and tl;dv price by region and showed pounds to a visitor from the UK, which is where this page is written. The row says which currency it is in. Converting would replace a figure the vendor published with one we made up.
